Victoria Sponge

This recipe original showed on the back of glutafin multipurpose white mix flour but as it contains diary I have adapted it not sure if it’s sucessfully , but it tasted nice to my family and was very quickly eaten.

Victoria sponge

150g of self raising gf flour Mix (NB glutafin’s flour contains dairy)
1 tsp gf baking powder
110g veg oil
110g sugar (I used mauscovado sugar cos I have a thing for it at the moment)
2 eggs
1 tsp vanila extract

Preheat oven to 170oC/160oC fan/ 325oF/ gas mark 3

Mix all the ingredients together, I have done it by hand and by machine just depends on the energy levels I have.

If you want a sandwich cake then divide between 2 x 18cm /7cm greases and lined sandwich tins.

Cook until the sponge spring backs when light touched in the centre. Cooking time varies but roughly around 30-35 mins

Place it on a cooling tray if you have it has two cakes you can now fill it with your filling or I have it as a single layer cake.

This cake I found to be a bit grease so I will revisit this at a later point,and reduce the oil used and play around with the ingredients.

What do you do ? let me know how you would alter the recipe

One thought on “Victoria Sponge

Comments are closed.