Tomato soup

Home made gf and df cream of tomato soup, if anyone want the recipe I'll post it on my blog in a few daysWe love tomato‘s in this house, so as I can’t have tomato soup out of a ‘shop’ bought tins anymore, I wanted to try and make the soup but as we are coming in to the winter months so fresh tomato are no longer in season here ( unless a heated greenhouse), but still available in supermarket etc though.

I though I would have a go at using tinned tomato, I had a quick rummage around the Internet to see what other people have done before me to give me a basic idea and i found this thread

Here is what I used

4 tins of chopped tomatoes
1 onion chopped
1 Tbsp of oil ( for frying the onion, use what ever your happy with)
1/2 can of coconut milk (you can uses more if needed)
2 tsp of ground arrowroot or corn flour
2 heaped tsp of brown sugar (or to taste)

Here is how I did it

•Place oil in to large saucepan and fry onion until transparent not burnt,remove onion in to a separate bowl.
•Place the the contents of the tomato tin in to saucepan,let simmer for 10-15 till bubbling add onions back in to saucepan and stir in well, turn hob down to low.
•place the coconut milk in to a small bowl or cup and add arrowroot ( or corn flour),mix well.
•pour coconut mixture in to saucepan and stir
•add the sugar to the saucepan.

Once happy with the mixture uses a wand blender or liquidiser to get to required thickness

You can service with a dash of coconut milk on the top ( to make a pretty pattern)

